4 ALBERT EMBANKMENT LONDON SE1 7SR

Telephone: 020 7735 7611 Fax: 020 7587 3210



E

Ref. B1/J/1.02

AFS.1/Circ.14 17 September 2007

INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON THE CONTROL OF HARMFUL ANTI-FOULING SYSTEMS ON SHIPS, 2001

Entry into force

The Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization has the honour to refer to the International Convention on the Control of Harmful Anti-Fouling Systems on Ships, 2001, and to state that, with the deposit of an instrument of accession by the Republic of Panama, on 17 September 2007, the requirements for the entry into force of the Convention, as set out in article 18, were fulfilled.

Article 18 of the Convention provides as follows:

"(1) This Convention shall enter into force twelve months after the date on which not less than twenty-five States, the combined merchant fleets of which constitute not less than twenty-five percent of the world's merchant shipping, have either signed it without reservation as to ratification, acceptance or approval, or have deposited the requisite instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in accordance with article 17."

Therefore, in accordance with the provisions of article 18, the Convention will enter into force on 17 September 2008, i.e. twelve months after the date on which the requirements for entry into force were met.

A list of the twenty-five Contracting States to the Convention, the combined merchant fleets of which constitute approximately 38.09% of the world's merchant shipping, appears overleaf.

INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON THE CONTROL OF HARMFUL ANTI-FOULING SYSTEMS ON SHIPS, 2001

Done at London on 5 October 2001

Contracting States

	Date of signature or deposit of instrument	Date of entry into force or succession
Antigua and Barbuda (accession)	6 January 2003	17 September 2008
Australia (ratification)	9 January 2007	,,
Bulgaria (accession)	3 December 2004	,,
Cook Islands (accession)	12 March 2007	,,
Croatia (accession)	15 December 2006	,,
Cyprus (accession)	23 December 2005	,,
Denmark (signature)	19 December 2002	,,
France (accession)	12 March 2007	,,
Greece (accession)	22 December 2005	,,
Japan (accession)	8 July 2003	,,
Kiribati (accession)	5 February 2007	,,
Latvia (accession)	9 December 2003	,,
Lithuania (accession)	29 January 2007	,,
Luxembourg (accession)	21 November 2005	,,
Mexico (accession)	7 July 2006	,,
Nigeria (accession)	5 March 2003	,,
Norway (accession)	5 September 2003	,,
Panama (accession)	17 September 2007	,,
Poland (accession)	9 August 2004	,,
Romania (accession)	16 February 2005	,,
Saint Kitts and Nevis (accession)	30 August 2005	,,
Slovenia (accession)	18 May 2007	,,
Spain (accession)	16 February 2004	,,
Sweden (ratification)	10 December 2004	,,
Tuvalu (accession)	2 December 2005	,,
