4 ALBERT EMBANKMENT LONDON SE1 7SR

Telephone: 020 7735 7611 Fax: 020 7587 3210



E

Ref. B1/J/1.02

AFS.1/Circ.13 5 July 2007

INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON THE CONTROL OF HARMFUL ANTI-FOULING SYSTEMS ON SHIPS, 2001

Accession by Luxembourg, Tuvalu, Greece, Cyprus, Mexico, Croatia, Lithuania, Kiribati, Cook Islands, France and Slovenia

Ratification by Australia

The Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization has the honour to refer to the International Convention on the Control of Harmful Anti-Fouling Systems on Ships, 2001, and to state that, in accordance with article 17 of the Convention, accession by the following States was effected by the deposit of instruments on the dates indicated:

	Date of deposit of instrument
The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg	21 November 2005
Tuvalu	15 December 2005
The Hellenic Republic	22 December 2005
Republic of Cyprus	23 December 2005
The United Mexican States	7 July 2006
The Republic of Croatia	2 December 2006
Australia	9 January 2007
The Republic of Lithuania	29 January 2007
Kiribati	5 February 2007
The Cook Islands	12 March 2007
The French Republic	12 March 2007
The Republic of Slovenia	18 May 2007

Article 18 provides as follows:

"(1) This Convention shall enter into force twelve months after the date on which not less than twenty-five States, the combined merchant fleets of which constitute not less than twenty-five percent of the world's merchant shipping, have either signed it without reservation as to ratification, acceptance or approval, or have deposited the requisite instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in accordance with article 17."

There are, at present, twenty-four Contracting States to the Convention.