Telephone: 020 7735 7611 Fax: 020 7587 3210



Ref. B1/J/1.02

AFS.1/Circ.17 7 May 2008

## INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON THE CONTROL OF HARMFUL ANTI-FOULING SYSTEMS ON SHIPS, 2001

## Accession by the Netherlands

The Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization has the honour to refer to the International Convention on the Control of Harmful Anti-Fouling Systems on Ships, 2001, and to state that, in accordance with article 17 of the Convention, accession by the Netherlands was effected by the deposit of an instrument on 16 April 2008.

The Convention will enter into force for the Netherlands on 17 September 2008, in accordance with the provisions of article 18.

The instrument contained the following declaration:

"The Embassy has the honour to inform the Secretary-General that, in accordance with article 9, paragraph 1, under a, of the Convention, the Kingdom of the Netherlands declares that the institutions which are competent to make decisions in the administration of matters relating to the control of anti-fouling systems are:

- a. American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) Houston Ltd;
- b. Bureau Veritas (BV);
- c. Det Norske Veritas (DNV);
- d. Germanischer Lloyd (GL) AG;
- e. Lloyd's Register of Shipping (LR);
- f. Nippon Kaiji Kyokai (NKK);
- g. Registro Italiano Navale (RINA).

The surveys by Lloyd's Register of Shipping (LR) shall be carried out by Lloyd's Register Emea."

There are, at present, 29 Contracting States to the Convention.