## INTERNATIONAL MARITIME ORGANIZATION

4 ALBERT EMBANKMENT LONDON SE1 7SR

Telephone: 0171-735 7611 Fax: 0171-587 3210 Telex: 23588 IMOLDN G



E

Ref. B1/D/2.03

CLC.6/Circ.38 3 March 2000

## PROTOCOL OF 1992 TO AMEND THE INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON CIVIL LIABILITY FOR OIL POLLUTION DAMAGE, 1969

## Accession by Italy, India, Fiji, Mauritius, Tonga, Poland, Comoros, Malta and Kenya

The Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization has the honour to refer to the Protocol of 1992 to amend the International Convention on Civil Liability for Oil Pollution Damage, 1969, and to state that, in accordance with article 12 accession by the following Contracting States was effected by deposit of instruments on the dates indicated:

	Date of deposit of instrument	Date of entry into force
Italian Republic	16 September 1999	16 September 2000
Republic of India	15 November 1999	15 November 2000
Republic of Fiji	30 November 1999	30 November 2000
Republic of Mauritius	6 December 1999	6 December 2000
Kingdom of Tonga	10 December 1999	10 December 2000
Republic of Poland	21 December 1999	21 December 2000
Islamic Federal Republic		
of the Comoros	5 January 2000	5 January 2001
Republic of Malta	6 January 2000	6 January 2001
Republic of Kenya	2 February 2000	2 February 2001

The instrument of accession by Mauritius contained the following declaration:

"REJECTS as unfounded the claim by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland of any sovereignty or sovereign rights over the so-called British Indian Ocean Territory (Chagos Archipelago) and reaffirms it sovereignty and sovereign rights over the Chagos Archipelago which forms an integral part of the national territory of the Republic of Mauritius, and over their surrounding maritime zones."

There are, at present, fifty-seven Contracting States to the Protocol.